“Why Are You Here?”

Why are you here? Why do you exist? Is there a purpose to your life on earth? How can you know? And if there is a purpose to your life how can you discover it? Do you want to make a difference? Do you want your life to have significance to others? Do you want to be able to influence this world and leave it a better place than before you arrived?

If you answered, “I don’t care about any of these questions,” then read no more; I’m not talking to you.  But if you have ever wondered about any or all of these questions, then you are, like most people on this planet, in search of something fundamental to human nature, the desire for significance and purpose.

Before I became a Jesus follower, the single most frustrating thought regarding my life was, “What if this is all there is to life?” As a young adult, I felt I had experienced most of what  the world had to offer by way of purpose, or at least I thought I did. Most of my pursuits were hedonistic, but the gnawing lack of satisfaction from my quest for pleasure left me tormented and sad at the idea that life had no more to offer than a few kicks and then, fade to black.  I felt my future was meaningless…I felt like King Solomon when he penned…

“Meaningless! Meaningless!” says the Teacher. ”Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.” Ecclesiastes 1:1

How I journeyed from that point of despair to where I am today is a very long story. But the radical change in my life began over two decades ago when a Christ follower dared me to test the scriptures and see if the Bible was true. I was disillusioned, hurt, bitter, skeptical and doubtful, but when I dared to ask Jesus (I didn’t even really believe he existed) to help me, the answer that came to me radically transformed my perspective and my life.

I didn’t have a vision…I didn’t hear any voice speaking to me…I didn’t change overnight…but I asked Him to forgive me and show me if He was real and if He was, would He change my life. It took a little while, but something began to seep into my heart that I had never known in my previous 24 years of living…I started to feel hope. I began to sense that my life meant something…that I had inherent value to God…that He knew me, was close to me and listening to my every word. Since that fateful day in my life, I have come to understand what happened…I began a relationship…a relationship with the One who made me, who formed me, who knew me before I drew my first breath, who loved me,  who had a path for me to walk and a destiny for me to fulfill.

So, there is a foundation to finding purpose…relationship. You cannot know why you are here until you know the One who made you. The questions about life’s purpose are common to man, but you cannot possibly understand why you are here until you become intimately acquainted with the God who breathes purpose into human existence. If you don’t know Him personally, you can. If you feel as if there is no hope, there is. He is as close as the mention of His name. Even if you don’t believe…even if you can’t see…He does…and He will answer you.

