Why Am I Here?

I believe that there are essentially four big questions that every person will eventually ask themselves at some point during the course of their lives. These questions are not the sole domain of the rich and famous or privileged few, but are common to all people, in all places at all times.  Are you ready?  The BIG FOUR are…

  • Who is God?
  • Who am I?
  • Why am I here?
  • Where am I going (when I leave here)?

The way that one answers these questions will ultimately determine the course of their lives. Even if no one poses these questions as directly as I have, I still believe each person will intuitively ask themselves these questions and answer with words and/or behavior.  Why these questions?  The wisdom writer in Ecclesiastes speaking of the Creator says, “…He has also set eternity in their heart…” (Eccl.3:11a NASB).  The Lord has “hard wired” certain things in the heart of mankind that are a reflection of His image.  Time without end…purpose, destiny…we can’t escape who we are, try as we might to rationalize, anesthetize and justify, we are made for something bigger than ourselves and we all want to know what that is…don’t you?

As I minister to believers, one of the most common questions I hear, “What is my purpose in the Kingdom?  Why am I here?”  (Big Four question #3).  Many times when we seek the “will of God” it relates to something circumstantial…Should I take this job? Should I get married?  Where should I live? Should we buy this house?  How should I serve? Etc., etc., ad infinitum. Often we view God’s will as this game of hide and seek where God is hiding the egg and we have to find it!  The longer I walk with Jesus, the more I am convinced that He does care about the finer details of our lives but not nearly as much as He cares about the greatest purpose for our existence.  God has made  His overarching intention for our lives quite clear in His word.  The problem lies in the fact that we as humans, major on the minors when God is focused on the big picture.

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son…” (Romans 8:28-29 NASB).

BAM!  That’s right, I wrote “BAM!” because that is how this verse should hit us.  As Christians we have certain verses down pat.  We love the “God causes all things to work together for good…” verse because its implications are so comforting (and we often have many suggestions for God about how that “good” should look!), but we don’t often look beyond the “WHAT?” (“God causes all things…”) to the “WHY” which says that He has predetermined that all things will work together for our good SO THAT we will be shaped into the image of His son, Jesus Christ.  God causes all things to work together for good so that in attitude, word, actions and character we will become like Christ.  Once we understand that this is God’s priority, we begin to realize that the circumstances of our lives are to be viewed through that filter of purpose. You and I are here to be conformed to the image of our Creator as seen in the life of the Son of God.

In my next post, I will discuss how God’s promises for our individual lives become the very means by which He shapes us into the image of Christ.

